Denver Public Schools Retired Employees Association

DPS Retired Employees Scholarship Continues To Aid Students

The Denver Public School Retired Employees Association Foundation would have celebrated twenty-six years of awarding scholarships to exceptional DPS graduating seniors at its annual recipients luncheon scheduled for April 17, 2021, had it not been for the Coronavirus and its restrictions.

The foundation was created as the philanthropic organization of the DPS Retired Employees Association to implement the membership’s continuing interest in and willingness to assist worthy graduates of Denver Public Schools. The objective of the foundation since its inception has been to reward academically and involved graduating seniors in the pursuit of their educational goals.

From the modest beginnings of awarding two $1,000 scholarships in 1996, the foundation has flourished through the generous contributions of the association membership, memorial donations, and bequests.

The foundation board of directors is pleased to be able to present eleven $10,000 scholarships, each renewable for an additional three years, totaling a possible award of $40,000 for each of the 2021 recipients over the course of their collegiate studies.

The DPS Retired Employees Association Foundation begins the process with an application from highly qualified students who are graduating from a diploma-granting school within the DPS system. After a complete evaluation of each student’s academic accomplishments and their community service and involvement, selected semi-finalists are asked to participate in a rigorous personal interview conducted by the scholarship committee.

Eleven finalists are recommended to the foundation’s Board of Directors for their approval. The scholarships are awarded at the recipients’ luncheon with members of the DPS Board of Education, school principals, school counselors, recipients and their families in attendance.

Each student is asked to speak briefly about their experiences in Denver Public Schools and their future plans. Many recipients indicate that the scholarship allows them to fulfill their academic dreams.

2021 Scholarship Recipients

  • Kyle Wolfe Abraham – South High School
  • Samantha Baker – Thomas Jefferson High School
  • Laine Ford – George Washington High School
  • Saténa Charles-Luciani – North High School
  • Silas Mitchell – Thomas Jefferson High School
  • Julia Rehring – Northfield High School
  • Julia Schor – East High School
  • Lucy Shoder – South High School
  • Nikolas Varga – East High School
  • Ava Stetson Ward – Thomas Jefferson High School
  • Samantha Wilkins – North High School


Board of Directors

Donald E. Giseburt, President
Bernadette Seick, Vice President
Anna Wickard, Secretary
Augusta L. Hardy
William Kohut
Nancy Raddatz
Lynn Williams
Jeanne Ross, Ex-officio

Scholarship Committee

James Fleet, Chairman
Clovis Brown
August L. Hardy
David J. Harguth
Lori Lazuka
Richard Nelson
Philip J. Perry
Nancy Raddatz
Bernadette R. Seick

Investment Committee

Donald E. Giseburt
C. Alan Peppers
Andrew Raicevich

Support Staff

Adrienne Havey, Accounting
Celeste Jimenez, Secretarial
Carole Maschka, Graphic Arts, Treasurer

Scholarship Foundation History

Read about the history of the scholarship foundation.

For additional information contact:

Donald Giseburt: 303-934-6678, donburburt@yahoo.com
James Fleet 303-757-1757, easjwf@comcast.net